Note disabled, but still able to add

Forums: 

My version of Bible is 7.x-1.5-alpha3.

I have Bible Note disabled via Configuration->Config

"Show Bible Note."

"Show Bible Note when user read chapter."   If I navigate to-   http://domain/bible/note/   I see a whole bunch of garbage notes added by anonymous user(s). Is this by design or a bug? If I click on "My Verses" link in the footer, I am asked to Login. I assumed Note would behave in the same fashion if I navigated to the path, despite not showing the link in the footer. Please advise and thank you in advance.